Yellow purple quilt

The fabric of giving

Goodwill shopper transforms used clothing into quilts for others

P.J., a quilter from Broken Arrow, appreciates those who’ve donated the shirts off their backs.

A patch on a teapot quilt made by P.J.

A patch on a teapot quilt made by P.J.

In the past two years, she has crafted a number of amazing pieces using men’s plaid all-cotton shirts that she bought from the Broken Arrow Goodwill Store. It’s a great example of upcycling. And one that’s got P.J. hooked.

“Guess I can’t look at clothes on the rack without thinking how that fabric might look in a quilt!” she wrote us in an email.

“I think I was shopping for my husband (for) some ‘new’ shirts a few years ago, when I just fell in love! with some of the fabrics they were made from….the quality of the cotton in some brands was superb and the diversity of the patterns/prints/plaids/colours….an endless variety.  It just looked to me like an affordable way to have fabric to make quilts from.

“But it turned into a ‘mission’ and unfortunately, I now have about 76 shirts!  That will make Lots of quilts, huh?”

P.J. was introduced to quilting as a child. She remembers the “scrap” quilts made from worn out clothes — “nothing much was wasted back then.”  But she hasn’t always been a quilter.

“However, it wasn’t until the late 80’s that I saw a quilt-making program on PBS on Saturday morning that I decided I wanted to learn….so I watched those programs every weekend and also checked out books from the library. Taught myself in that way and keep learning something new all the time.  I have to say my first attempts weren’t all that pretty, but the biggest thing I learned is that you can learn anything; it’s just a matter of one step and then another and the desire to do it and to do it well….and don’t quit trying.”

Butterfly-quilt-detail

“Black White Butterfly”

Using what’s available instead of always buying new comes naturally to P.J.: “… I have always enjoyed making something from ‘nothing’ or re-making one thing into something else.  I think that comes from my upbringing of not having much and making do, you know?”

P.J. has bought “many many things” at Goodwill. Finding fabric for her quilts is a great bonus.

“I’ve also accumulated pretty tropical type prints from women’s clothing (used quite a few of those in a quilt for my great-granddaughter) and the plisse fabrics from capri pants are great for light springlike baby coverlets, etc.  If I need flannel, I look at pajamas or bathrobes, bed sheets if they aren’t priced too high … . The ‘treasure hunt’ is an awesome satisfying part of the whole process.”

Most of what P.J. makes, she gives away. Her quilts go to family members and close friends. She’s made baby quilts for unwed mothers, Head Start programs and neighborhood charities; baby and children’s quilts and pillowcases, and crocheted scarves for a local Angel Tree. She and several friends will soon work with the Quilts of Valor organization.

“Last year, I cut large squares from (the shirts) and made into quilts for two young boys who lost their mother right before Christmas.”

A simple shopping trip to Goodwill became a passion that has touched many — those who receive the quilts and even those who get to only see them.

“My Mother would be in awe of my fabric stash and I can just hear her: ‘I hope you realize how blessed you are!’ Yes, Mama, I do.”

About the project
P.J., a regular shopper at the Broken Arrow Store, kindly shared pictures of the quilts she makes using men’s plaid shirts she bought at Goodwill®. For the past week, we’ve posted one of her magnificent creations on our Facebook page. You can find the photos collected on our Pinterest board.

Please join the converstaion. Tell us what you think.